Mosquitoes

I hate mosquitoes. And they love me. All summer long I am covered in itchy, painful welts from the pests. But I also don’t like spraying smelly bugspray all over myself all the time. When I’m in my studio I’m ok because I have a fan blowing on me which keeps them away, but as soon as I step out of the windstream they eat me alive.

I just read an article from Mother Earth News about natural ways to repel mosquitoes and I’m thinking of trying some of them. We need some new plants for the beds around the patio anyway so I’m thinking about trying geraniums and lemonbalm.

 

I’m also going to mix up some herbal insect repellant to try. If it doesn’t smell as bad as chemical bug spray then maybe I’ll actually use it. The article linked to above has this recipe:

Herbal Insect Repellent

2 1/2, teaspoons total of any combination of the following essential oils (available at health food stores): basil, cedarwood, citronella, juniper, lemon, myrrh, palmarosa, pine, rose geranium and/or rosemary

1 cup 190-proof grain alcohol (available in liquor stores)

Place ingredients in a jar with a tight-fitting lid and shake vigorously. Transfer to small bottles for storage. To use, rub a small amount on any exposed skin (test first to be sure your skin will not be adversely affected by the repellent) or dab it on clothing.

 

Any other suggestions?

One thought on “Mosquitoes

  1. Laura, there i something that one of the bug companies sells that you just attach something to your clothes and it kills bugs. I know it lists flies but not sure of mosquitos

Leave a Reply

